Good Friday Sunburst

I make no apologies for spending the gorgeously sunny Good Friday morning playing cars with my daughter and son-in-law. When we were in business we used to spend the entire Easter weekend in a dark and dusty shed feeding the potting machine with young plants that I had raised. Our children, my aged mother-in-law and my mother in her wheelchair used to 'help'.

We took my daughter's track car, and the Bermuda Blue that she has just bought, with my car out into the Hertfordshire countryside. It was glorious, beautifully warm and quiet, apart from the buzzing of bumble bees looking for homes and the songs of larks. I've chosen to post this pic as a sunburst has formed on the rear offside quarter of my car and another, less distinct, near the filler cap of the Bermuda Blue. I remember when my son was into photography at school and used to talk of sunburst filters.

My church-going mother used to say that Good Friday was the saddest day of the year. I'm not religious but believe in upholding traditions. We always have fish and we never eat hot cross buns unless it is Good Friday. I made a hot cross bun and butter pudding for the family and some forced rhubarb baked in orange juice. When I was young and fruits were eaten in season, rhubarb gave that pink fruity hit that people craved before the soft fruits came into season. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.