Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Big Wednesday

Not today of course. Thanks to Beewriter, this is my attempt at Film Star Friday number five. I was meant to be Matt Johnson "surfing", but seeing that I cannot "surf" to save my own skin I decided to find the nearest thing. I tried a Lego surf board. Didnt work. An ironing board was a waste of time. A body board isn't the same.  So while Mrs Tuttle was out of the Tuttle household I allowed Tuttle Jnr to shoot me on our non-collapsible table.  Worked a treat because it directly resembled a humorous scene from the movie whereby a "surf dude" attempts to surf on a his mate's mum's dinning room table at the end of a house party. The table collapses in spectacular fashion. 

As you may have gather (if you have never seen or heard of the John Milius film) it is about surfing. It does contain some moments of unnecessary cheese, but it was a film that had a huge impact on me back in 1991. It encouraged me to watch more (decent) films throughout the 90's.  And a year later I watched Shallow Grave (FSF4), which had an even bigger impact on me.
If you think the surfing in Point Break was awesome, Big Wednesday will blow you away completely. Well, shot throughout, contains lots of bloke humour and stars "Airwolf" pilot Jan-Michael Vincent (could be a good thing or a bad thing). Big Wednesday was also the first VHS I owned that was in wide screen format, at a time when wide screen TVs were not the norm.

The Trailer

Have a great Easter weekend Blippers. 

Ps: Our dinning room table did not collapse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.