Theatre

Out straight after work and up to the Lyceum to take in, 'I Am Thomas', the story of poor Thomas Aitkenhead, an Edinburgh student and the last person to be hanged for blasphemy in Britain, in the 1690s.
Anyway, we met up with I&F and handed over their tickets - front row of the stalls too, and in we did sally - at the third bell, of course, downing the obligatory G&T. People in our seats! I think you'll find they're our seats, my paramour loftily declared. They hurriedly produced their tickets. Stalls Row A. Seats 9, 10... Hmmm... same as ours. And then we spotted the flaw in our position... we'd tickets for Friday night, and this was Thursday. Ahem. We retreated hastily to the exit where we had a hurried conference; I must say my first thought was bugger, I'd ordered interval drinks! I wondered if we should hang on in the bar till then at least. But none of us could make Friday night. But there up at the back of the stalls... some empty seats with a restricted view. They'll do!
The house lights dimmed.
As to the show, a horrible mishmash - I thought some of the songs were passable, the singing was fabulous but the misplaced humour of presenting the trial as viewed by modern day football pundits was toe-curlingly awful, unoriginal, unfunny and actually, to be serious, disgracefully trivialising of the whole thing. What a laugh. Not. National Theatre of Scotland? Get a grip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.