St Mary's Church, Burnham Deepdale

Prompted by laurie54's call to virtually bigblipmeet today I had been pondering blip on my long journey South. I'm a bit tired after the journey to say much but am very grateful that there is so much spirit here that we have been able to collectively keep blip on the road and that there are those at blip central that are doing so much to carry us forward.

Anyone who knows me will know that I am not at all religious but when I arrived and went for a quick walk out (extra) the single church bell called out as I was on the marsh and so I joined the appropriately named evening vigil 'From Darkness to Light'. It's the second time I've been in since dad's funeral. I wouldn't normally but the benefice has the most wonderfully accepting vicar, Susan. I warmed to her the instant we met to talk over dad's funeral and she ended up driving me to the crem and we talked of poetry and life (as she drove like a bat out of hell ..oops..to catch up with the hearse). She is very tolerant of my blatant agnosticism/atheism and saying it's all a bit Monty Python.
She got her own back this evening as we sat in the church with our lighted candles, she read the following poem by Ian Adams ....

I thought I was dead;
lost
in the dark damp earth
buried
unknowing

but in the deep
you were forming me
a seed planted
tended
loved
awaited
becoming

Needless to say that got me going. Just as well it was dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.