Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Roots and Nev

This morning was cloudy and damp and did not improve when, in an attempt to reboot my phone I threw it into an alternate universe from which I could not retrieve it. Matters did not improve when a yellow light went on in my husband's car, warning of potential problems of unknown origin. With visions of having to replace all the lost addresses, apps, photos and all the other parts of my life which have become almost as important to me as a vital organ, or rescue my husband from the side of the road, we limped home in our separate cars, my husband with one eye on the yellow light.

Things began to improve rapidly when I showed up early at the computer store to meet my endlessly cheerful and talented friends who had volunteered to help me buy a new computer. While I waited for them, one of the geniuses helped me rescue my phone from the ether and restore it to full function in about 4 secondss. By the time Nev showed up, my wavering confidence level in technology was restored to the point that with his invaluable help, I negotiated the daunting world of ethernet, wi-fi, hard drives and card slots and emerged, shaky but proud to meet Roots. She is a chef and not at all technical, (at least not about computers--she bakes a mean loaf of bread) and besides, she is married to Nev so with no need to have to try to understand any of this, she had gone off to the Sephora shop to buy some mascara.

Nev and Roots will soon be going back to Goa, where they are building a house, opening a restaurant, running a successful advertising business and raising two gorgeous daughters. They have been here since the beginning of May and we will miss them terribly when they return home in August. They have filled our lives with enough friendship and laughter to last us until we see them again...perhaps over dinner in the new restaurant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.