An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Moon over the Watermeadow Willows

With the weather so bleeding miserable today, with lashings of gale force rain, my decision to go out at about 11.30 pm and cover both sides of midnight was a wise one.

LOOKS BETTER LARGE

But, what I had not have foreseen was that instead of the forecasted dullness (but I was looking for damp colourful city pavements) it was clear and very very cold, with a brisk breeze blowing through from the east.

That breeze was enough to blur the tips of these pollarded weeping willows, the 30 seconds exposure allowing quite a nice smallish aperture on the Sigma Art 30mm DX lens, for a nice star (moon?) burst effect.

I liked also the contrast of the orange of the distant street lamps (and also some from lamps behind me on the front of the trees too) with that of the cool night blue. 

It then rained on the walk back home, though I saw no clouds! Weird weather, or what?

As I said, I have potential images taken after midnight for my Blip tomorrow (OK, later today, by now) but of course, if I get anything better, then I will have an even bigger choice. So, bearing that in mind, I won't post anything for Easter Sunday until much later in the day. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.