The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Moeraki Boulders and Shag Point

I drove quite a long way, passing through Dunedin (where I'd spent time in 2005) and stopping at about 2.30pm at Shag Point, a spot full of seals (see the extra photos). I'd been in contact with Julia and Björn, and by luck they were there only five minutes after me, so we got to see the seals together.

Then we drove a few minutes up the coast to the famous Moeraki boulders which have a bit of mystery about them (mostly how they were formed and how they got there). As you can see from the main photo, it's a tourist hot-spot!

My campsite was just around the corner, so I said goodbye (for the final time) and they drove north. My campsite was lovely, overlooking the bay. A nice English couple were in the van next to me and we chatted for a while about travelling (their son is at university and wants to travel the world when he finishes). Then I cooked up some food and met a really nice English guy called Tom who had been travelling around South America for the last nine months with his girlfriend. They were heading to South East Asia next, so I was about to give him some advice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.