Easter bubbles

This is a first for me - a bubble machine pouring out lots of large , translucent bubbles at the end of an Episcopal Easter Communion.

I am not at Holy Trinity , Dunoon, as  regularly as I should be but someone said to me afterwards that bubbles are often used  as a means of illustrating the Holy Spirit here.   I don't know whether that was a joke or not, but they are in fact typical of the innovative, inclusive, joyful approach of the Rector Andrew Swift  (who sometimes also blips ) .

Andrew , who is now also the Dean of the Diocese of Argyll & the Isles, has transformed Holy Trinity since he came six or seven years ago.  I have blipped the church before , indeed I did so last Easter, but today  was a good example of how much things have changed ; the church was full when it used to be half empty, there were children everywhere and taking part in all aspects of the service, there were touching and effective innovations (like each of us writing prayers on little cardboard easter eggs and hanging them on a tree) and the whole communion was full of life and celebration.

We all left, I am sure, more uplifted, more open, more generous and more thoughtful than we arrived and that cannot be bad.

Happy Easter ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.