Camplng???

Camping for softies I call it. These camping pods have appeared on the edge of our rather upmarket caravan site.

I think they may be for people who don't like the idea of creepy crawlies getting into their tent. They are fairly basic with just beds and electric plugs inside but you have to cook on the external barbecue.

I have some sympathy with such folk. I still have vivid memories of sleeping in a tent in the Catskill Mountains in New York State in 1964.

You had to put all your food in a bag and haul it up using a rope over a branch. You wouldn't want the bears to share it. Then there were the Racoons who had an all night party just the other side of the tent wall. What finally finished me off was the 4a.m. Cloudburst which led to a river running through the tent. No choice but to pull it all down and throw it into the VW Beetle.

After we returned to England and when we could afford it we bought a motor caravan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.