Trying to look ahead

Mindfulness teaches us to live in the present moment. Buddhism teaches us to sit with our emotions and lean into them. Despite a shaky meditation practice of late, I've been doing a lot of this. What I feel I need is something to look forward to.

I can't complain. I was feeling sorry for myself because a friend cancelled our afternoon out. Just then two friends from across the planet got in touch. They both are facing massive challenges: one is about to undergo surgery, with ailing parents and children who may move across the country soon; the other found both of her parents admitted to hospital in emergency circumstances, one with a severe heart attack and the other near a heart attack with three blocked arteries leading to the heart.

Both women were feeling overwhelmed and uncertain how they could continue going forward.

A wee while ago a dear friend asked me to hold her hand while she was taking a flight. There were many times subsequently when we virtually held each other's hand. She held my hand through most, if not all, of Japan and I found that a huge comfort. I would squeeze my right hand, imagine her smiling at me and then try whatever the next challenge was. It was hugely helpful.

My small contribution to my two friends was to say that I was holding their hand and it seemed to help. It helped me, too.

So thank you my dear friend for introducing me to this practice. I really appreciate it. X

* Thanks to Jellycat72 for the inspiration for this photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.