Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Sevenoaks Wildlife - Portrait of a Robin

Storm Katie blasted her way into the area overnight, but bought sunshine and blue skies with her. So, we headed over to Sevenoaks to investigate a nature reserve founded on a series of lakes formed from abandoned quarries. After coffee in the visitors centre, I left Mum with her kindle and Classic FM on the radio, while I took a walk around one of the lakes.

I had in mind a mono shot for Mono Monday, but it wasn't until I got home to discover that today's theme was Portrait. However, this little robin posed long enough for a quick shot, so meets the brief. My original choice, featuring one of the hides, is in extras.

Heading back home later we witnessed some fallout from Katie's work: all roads heading to the Dartford Crossing were blocked solid. The QE Bridge was shut due to the high winds, forcing everything through the tunnels. Fortunately we were headed in the other the direction, but I can image some very disgruntled drivers trying to head home after the bank holiday weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.