Venice

Not at all representative in it's present state, of this beautiful city but it hangs on the wall in our lounge and I have an ulterior motive for Blipping it.
It's a print ,almost 3 feet high and 5 feet long and I bought it over thirty years ago. it's by William James who was a student of Canaletto and a good one as you can see.
My real motive is , I know there are many artists out there on Blip who could advise me how to clean it, it needs a clean quite badly, as when I bought it, it was mounted on what seemed to be a hardboard backing then framed and I failed to ask the dealer to fit glass into the frame too..hence it's collected dirt over the years..the dealer did seal it with a varnish of sorts I seem to remember but either that discoloured over time, or it's collected a film, perhaps from the use of a gas fire in the lounge?
It looks worse than it really is on the photo, it's not nearly as obvious hung on the wall thank goodness:)
Perhaps it really needs expert attention though and if so, it's certainly worth it:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.