crabtree

By crabtree

The Old Man of Storr

Just back from a week of walking and exploring in Scotland. It was one of those weeks where you pack so much in you can't quite remember what you did! Highlights include:
 
- CMD Arete up to Ben Nevis in winter conditions (although the ridge wasn't completely snow covered) and seeing a quick glimpse of a spectacular cloud inversion at the top (a tick for the bucket list).
- Staying in two Bothies (another tick for my bucket list). One on Skye had 180 degree views of the sea.
- 5 Monroes climbed (Not bagged or ticked, something annoying about those terms!)
- Walking the snowy route up a gully to Beinn Eighe in poor visibility. No wind and absolute silence made for a completely other-wordy feeling. This didn't last long as the weather descended at the top and treated us to a battering.
- Being back on Skye and making it to the Storr. The last time I was here it was covers in cloud and my knees were shot from two days on the ben.
- My first visit to Torridon (even though I only got a few glimpses of cloud free views).
- Feeling fit!
- Probably the best shower I've ever had (at a hostel) after several days of not washing and being out on the hill all day!
 
   
My only regret is not being able to use the camera too much. I was focused on mainly enjoying the walking and due to the weight of the camera and the conditions we had I opted to leave it in the boot most of the time. Looking back now I wish I had my camera with me throughout the trip. A small high quality camera is needed!

Back blips:

Evening Light
Going up...
Torridon View
Bienn Eighe
The Lookout Bothy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.