Chapel Beck from Galing

Blustery. A great word to describe today.
A little bit of everything was thrown at us- sun, hail, rain and more sun, all carried on a fierce wind, but pooch and I were glad to be out. We walked "the triangle", it's a simple walk round the lanes, one we've been doing for over a decade together. The three houses we've had in Cumbria have been at the three corners, and it's a route that's come to be special in the IttH household, at 4 miles and with a gentle 600ft of up and down it's a good enough outing to make you feel you've done something, but it's never taxing or hard work. 6 years ago I ran loops of it again and again in the dark trying to outrun monsters, 2 years ago it was where I slowly learnt to walk again - and still now it gives me a sense of measure as once again I rehabilitate injured parts.
Being a triangle the views are panoramic and changing - I've never tired of the cloudscape playing shadows across the Howgills or the terraced work of glaciation on the Knott - and just when we think we know all of its little variations, the stone circle, Raisbeck pond or Chapel Beck falls - we'll cut a corner or wander through a gate and find another little gem not marked on any map.
The walk, much like Cumbria itself, crept up on us. A place we came to visit became somewhere we stopped. Slowly we put down roots and it became part of us and we of it, until one day we weren't visiting, we were home. I travel often and I love it. I'm very very lucky to love home more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.