Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

A Crystal Bottle

Backblip for Wednesday 24th February 2016

“That we find a crystal or a poppy beautiful means that we are less alone, that we are more deeply inserted into existence than the course of a single life would lead us to believe”

English art critic, novelist, painter and poet John Berger


When I was a film student in 1980 at Reading, we were shown the 1970's BBC series 'Ways of Seeing', presented by John Berger.  It was widely used by colleges and universities at the time as an introduction to the study of images.  Thirty-five years later, towards the end of my BBC career, I was to meet John Berger in person while recording an interview with him for Radio 4's "Front Row" arts programme.  He was in his late 80's, but seemed to have lost none of his vigour.


In my blipfoto is an old crystal perfume bottle - another of my charity shop finds, which cost 50 pence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.