Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Road to the Bings

Looking at the rain radar, I decided to avoid Midlothian and East Lothian. I headed out to West Lothian for a shorter bike bike, because I knew that I would not escape the showers completely. 

As I started out, I narrowly avoided the first rain shower as it neared my house. It was quite gusty, but as I followed the cyclepths out of Edinburgh, it wasn't too bad. Only on the open roads out of Kirkliston, and the descent to Dechmont from West Binny were the worst. But, as you can see from my blip, I did have blue skies. This was taken on the back to Niddry, near Winchburgh.

The route took me through Kirkliston, Niddry, Winchburgh, Uphall, Pumpherston. Mid Calder, Leyden Rd, Balerno. Mostly dry. The wettest part was cycling up Leyden Road, where the wind blew the rain horizontally across my glasses.

Once on the A70, I could take advantage of the westerly breeze, and it didn't take log to get home. It was, however very cold. I made it back just in time before another heavy shower. I was very glad of the hot shower. Toes and fingers were tingling.

The weather didn't really improve. As it was Easter Sunday, most shops would be closed anyway. So I spent the afternoon completing the transfer of items to my new laptop. It took some time to move the lightroom catalog and the photographs. Back blipping here I come

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.