That kinda night.

Jazztronik - Listen To Your Love (DJ Mitsu Remix)

I decided to finally watch Friday the 13th the original. I've never seen it but I saw 4 when I was about 11 years old, totally traumatised me at the time. But now I'm totally into horror films in general. I've got Friday the 13th part 2 & 3 on the backburner for later in the week too. It's really interesting to see Kevin Bacon so young.

Often, I enjoy horror films from the 70s and 80s simply because for the kitsch nature of it all. I relish that "cheap" feel and revel in the idea that somehow these films were "evil". I dunno, the poor film quality, the 70s music, the carpets, light tones... there's a certain "feel" to them that at this point I can't really put into words. I'm still recovering from my sunburns. :P And for the fact that I'm currently watching it now. Good times.

However, when I saw the 4th one back in the day, it really appeared like a "modern" film. But now having watched it after all this time it appears dated. It's scary how film styles deceptively change over time, seemingly right under your nose.

Anyway, the point of this whole exercise, pick up a movie you saw at the cinema 10-20 years ago and see what I mean. Boy I'm showing my age. :P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.