On Some Days

By V1k1

Sculpture

I am way behind with my homework for Emma Davies online photography course.  This afternoon I took my self down to the little sulphur lake in the gardens to practice the rules of composition.
I wanted a subject that didn't move and around the lake are some sculptures.  They were created in 2014 and were the start of Rotorua's World War 1 centennial commemorations.  The theme was "The Returning Soldier'.     This piece is called Anchor Peace by Jocelyn Pratt and is an anchor stone acting as a symbol of the returning soldiers belief in having fought for future peace.
After taking 32 shots I liked this one the best.  The only composition rule I can see is that I deliberately didn't include the  foreground.  After thinking composition I've ended up with an intuitive shot like I always do :-)  I like the solidness of the stone and the light on it.  The extra shows what it looks like from across the lake.  
I am leaning things from the course really I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.