weewilkie

By weewilkie

it's one louder

I got this fab birthday card today from my brother. I love it, I love him. He's got killer taste in music and film. We shared a room growing up and share a lot in terms of the things we like.
Like the guy in the card. His name is Corky St Clair, from the wonderful film Waiting for Guffman. He's played by Christopher Guest best known as Nigel Tufnel from Spinal Tap.
Spinal Tap was entirely improvised and Guest has his own troupe of players who are masters of improvisation and star in his other films like A Mighty Wind (the folk scene) , Best In Show (dog shows) and, of course, Waiting for Guffman (amateur dramatics).
The humour is daft and gentle and there is always such heart in them. The musical numbers are works of genius in themselves and they never sneer. There is always a love of the subject matter that profoundly comes through. Some of the songs, for all their absurdity, are just the sweetest things: A Penny For Your Thoughts, Kiss At The End Of The Rainbow, The films are highly quotable. They are the sort of films that get better the more you watch: full of nuance and, because they are improvised, the situations feel real with people talking over one another or half saying something. In fact, as I'm the Birthday Boy, I'm going to watch one of his films tonight. I've got myself right in the mood for one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.