Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Cow Parsley

A bee hovers around some cow parsley on another dull afternoon, although the sun did peep through now and again. The morning had been better but I was still down with the bug I'd picked up. It's frustrating because it gets in the way of doing things but at least I've been catching up with some reading.

Just now I'm reading Maggie Gee, one of the writers at an Arvon Foundation course I did in May. I've been enjoying two of her books, My Cleaner and now her follow on book, My Driver. She's a very sharp, witty and observant writer. If you want a good read this summer with finely constructed characters I would recommend her work.

My Weymouth accommodation (see yesterday's Blip) remains unresolved. Also I seem to be in the doghouse with wife and youngest son. I can't help being ill and I can't help being miserable and moody when I'm ill. I don't do ill very well.

Another thing: in this morning's bedridden state I was steered to a Wall Street Journal article on iPhones etc and it inspired a sort of satirical blog (link to WSJ and blog here). You'd need to read the article first to understand a story of Wild West gunfighters and today's enthusiasm for mobile communications.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.