Old gig tickets - Manfred Mann's Earth Band

Well, it was an astonishing 35 years ago that I saw the Earth Band play the Dominion Theatre. What were my parents thinking letting me go out to gig on a Monday night when I had school the next day? Glad they did though - this was a rocking group at the time, the Chris Thompson period Earth Band were really golden and in their pomp at about this time. It was hit after hit after hit stuff, including a few oldies from the 60s - I think Pretty Flamingo for sure, possibly 5-4-3-2-1 as well. Thompson was I'm sure in the line up that night, though on line sources tell you he didn't rejoin the band till 1982. He shared vocals with Steve Waller on the night. Perhaps he was just guesting. Manfred himself would have been just turned 40, though I remember thinking at the time he was from another era!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.