NEVER A CROSS WORD

This confusion of technology and reflections is a three-way Skype with all my sisters this afternoon. Three of them were in Norfolk and though we tried to set up a shared call with my sister in Texas this afternoon, her laptop wouldn't support it, so mission control in Norfolk used two computers and held one of them so that Annie and I could see each other. She was sitting in a Macdonalds in the right-wing country wilds of bible-belt Texas so that she could use their wi-fi, and then the five of us spent an hour catching up and doing the Telegraph crossword - which is a family tradition when we all get together, ever since we all used to do it with our Dad. Annie and I were having to do it blind - here she is concentrating - but we did it. She said she couldn't think of anything she'd rather do in the world this afternoon than the crossword with all her sisters, and I know she's been feeling low and isolated, being a liberal-minded Democrat woman of the world.

I should have been proof-reading, but I couldn't think of anything else I'd rather do either, just having come home from my last chemo session - yay!!! Unfortunately, for the first time I've been feeling really nauseous and was actually sick a short time ago. Perhaps it was all the excitement and talk. I shall be really unhappy if all the nasty side-effects have waited until the end to get me. But I'm off to bed now, and hope to feel better in the morning so that I can catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.