Off to the Barbers

That confused him.

The short trip on the bike with Euan down for a haircut turned into a cycle into Stirling and up the cobbled streets to the Castle. I'm telling you, these medieval sorts had the right idea sticking their castles where they did. Anyone going for an all-out attack on one by bike would have had their work cut out. And when I asked the car park attendant where the cycle rack was he said they didn't have one "...'cause very few folk were 'brave' enough to cycle up there". Knights in shiny helmets we were. Still, shame on you Historic Scotland; we had to leave the bikes chained up against a wall and out in the open. And shame on you for forcing me to eat one of the foulest £4 sandwiches ever, and for almost tempting me into buying a £4 bottle of Deuchars I.P.A. Will be taking a picnic next time I feel.

Was much more fun coming back down though, trying to get all aerodynamic like those Tour de France types (not an easy task for chunky old me on my chunky old tyres) and pushing the speed limit.

One of those nice, unplanned and unexpected days out that was.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.