Katblog

By katriak

The Mighty Birdhunter

I woke this morning at 5.30 to a general mayhem: cats were excited, running around. Soon I saw Nottis - my youngest, the timid, teeny one - sitting at the door, making growling sounds and she had something in her mouth. First I thought they have brought again a mouse in the house, but soon enought I realized it wasn't a mouse. Nottis had somehow managed to catch a bird - being inside the cat patio! It was the first bird ever, this being my sixth summer with cats. I would never have thought it would be Nottis to catch one, since the others run around the yard and stalk birds there and Nottis refuses to go out of the cat patio.

The bird, you might wonder, survived. It was a young robin, and it was alive when I interefered. I took her outside and she seemed to be ok yet shocked. I left her to recover a bit further away, out of sight of my cats. Some time later she was gone, so I hope she grows up and teaches her offspring in the future to stay clear of any cat patios :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.