Wood's adventures

By Pippilongstock

Nightshift

I don't normally blip my tea.

Honest.

But, well it tasted good. And it is a bit of a visual reminder, a prompt to myself and an acknowledgement that I was wrong.

Several people have recommended meal planning and I have always smiled, nodded and moved on without any intention of planning more than maybe a day or two a head or what the protein content will be. But this year I've been getting stuck in a rut of either the same food, or a sudden panic at 4pm that two hungry toddlers need to be fed in an hour and what is in the the house to cook them.

So, I used a nightshift a few weeks back to read through two editions of the BBC good food magazine and identify new recipes to try. And then the following week I found myself on another night shift and used the time to work out a menu plan. We are almost two weeks in and its been good to try new recipes. It has been good to feel more in control. Ad has helped more as he can just see what I had in mind and start things if I am doing something else. 

I need to improve my planning - to use up the extras - so tomorrow might not quite be as per the plan.

And actually this meal wasn't meant to be this, but we skipped it last Friday, it was meant to be a Friday treat. So we had it on a Wednesday - seared steak and Japanese dips (one missing here as I'd left it in the kitchen) with sticky rice. It was delicious. It felt extravagant but wasn't particularly (the steak was from the freezer having been bought on offer). 

So it was worth blipping and reminding myself - sometimes its worth trying the things I recoil from!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.