The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Hanmer time!

I drove up Hanmer Springs, a famous outdoor thermal pools. It cost $22 to get in but I planned to spend quite a few hours there, so I'd get my money's worth. Unfortunately because it Good Friday, it was busier than usual but never mind. I went straight for one of the hottest pools (38 - 42°C) and relaxed for half an hour or so. It was amazing!

I got out and went to the bathroom and suddenly I felt lightheaded and passed out. Luckily just before I collapsed, I leant up against the wall, which possibly stopped me from hitting my head. Not so lucky was the fact the floor was almost like gravel and as I fell down unconscious, my legs and feet were cut badly and I woke up with blood all over the floor. Someone had seen me and called for a medic. I'd already got up and was standing by the sinks, about to pass out again, but they got me to sit down and asked me questions to work out if I was concussed, as the man who'd seen me, thought I'd hit my head.

Apparently someone passes out at the springs every day, from overheating and dehydration but it was still pretty embarrassing. I drank loads of water and cooled down outside but I didn't feel like staying any longer so I got back on the road once I felt fine. I stopped at this amazing view nearby. All of the driving around Hanmer was spectacular. I went back to the same campsite from the night before and took it easy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.