Occasional Musings

By cookingisgood

Web Angel

I was really frustrated with myself last weekend, having had a Saturday where I just COULD NOT get myself going... so many little jobs I needed to get done etc and instead I drifted around and by the end of the day felt I'd achieved nothing. So, I didn't want a repeat performance this week. Consequence: Out of the house by 8:45 on a bracing constitutional before a breakfast of porridge and freshly brewed coffee with the wonderful Sandy Toksvig on Radio 4 as accompaniment. It also meant I'd blipped by 9:15 :) There was sooooo many lovely frosty things to try to capture this morning and I snapped quite a few different things but this frozen spiderweb caught my eye. The occupant had very sensibly decided to abandon ship, hope he found a sheltered crevice to spend the night in.

Today I plan to:
Sort out the huge pile of junk mail into recycling and rubbish
Return the kitchen to some semblance of order
Make some Earl Grey muffins
Do the usual supermarket run/laundry load/basic housework etc

This evening the girls from the church I go to are gathering to hear a Christian lady talk about a support group she's set up to help those with "Hurts, Habits and Hangups". She is a recovered bulimic/anorexic so it will be interesting to hear what she has to say regarding how her faith has helped her and how she believes others faith can help them. I admit to approaching this evening with one or two qualms as I'm hoping that that it's not going to be a blinkered "my way or the highway" or a "you don't need medics, you just need Christ" approach. As a Christian, I'm not called to divorce myself from the world (the opposite, in fact) and I'm also called to celebrate God's good gifts and quite frankly, where used appropriately, that includes methadone/prozac and anything else the medical world might have to offer. Having said all that, the two women who've organised tonight are lovely godly people who I trust so hopefully it will be a thought-provoking evening.

I also hope they all like Earl Grey muffins :)

Yesterday backblipped here

Enjoy a frosty weekend UK blippers and hope all the rest of you have a good one too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.