New Boy

A full day supporting people with Dementia and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

I started the day with a 93 year old new boy; spending a couple of hours with him whilst his sprightly 82 year old wife escaped for a while. I demolished him playing Dominoes but he loved every moment.  His wife says he does absolutely nothing but I shall attempt to get him out of the house next Friday. His wife hugged me and I take hugs as a sign that I am getting it right!

Next was my Octogenarian with the scandalous life stories. I would love to have more time with her as I think she is terribly lonely but the family have booked me for just one hour a week. (The nuns used to make her eat berries crawling with live maggots.)

My third of the day was Mrs W. Her husband has her ready and waiting for me so he can escape to the garden. Mrs W is enormous fun. I bet she was up for anything once upon a time! 

After the obligatory visit to a tearoom, I decided to take her to my sister's skatepark. As it is the school holidays, it was full of skaters and some of them are just incredible to watch!

Mrs W was enthralled! As we were watching, a boy came in with a parrot on his shoulder! Both he and the parrot were very chatty. I really could not plan my support days better!  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.