FatBob1962

By FatBob1962

A vivid recollection

Today we drove up the A9.  Seeing a sign to Newtownmore,  we took a detour. In the mid 1970s I went on a ten day scout camp there. The passage of years had not dimmed my recollection of the route out of Newtonmore,  up a narrow road and up to the Glen. Over a cattle grid there was the place we had camped next to the river with an island opposite. My patrol leader decided that the Peewit patrol should camp on the island. Given that day 1 was a scorcher and the river only a trickle with lots of stepping stones it seemed like a great idea. The next day the heavens opened and it rained almost constantly until the day we left. the river turned from trickle to torrent. We dammed it so it went round the river.  We built a log bridge.  The river rose and rose.  Late one night we discovered that the bridge had been covered.  Our Scout leader decide to help us across one at a time stripped to our undies. Two went across. Then my turn.  As we edged across the power of the water collapsed the bridge and I was thrown into the fast flowing water. What happened next I don't really know except the scout leader had to scoop me out.  I think I was saved from drowning.  Happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.