The colors of the rainbow

By bergfoto

Last night

The Northern Lights are probably the main reason why so many tourists visit Iceland during winter. We who live here are used to have them dancing on the sky every now and then. I've taken photos of the lights several times before and some of them can been seen on blipfoto. 

The first one in October 2012. 

There are also two more in October 2012, one in November the same year and one image in January 2013. February 11th 2013 the lights were very strong for the first time since I started photographing them and I was so amazed. It turned out to be a wonderful night. 

Before I went out in the middle of the night and stayed there with my camera for couple of hours even if the lights were not strong. I've stopped doing that. Now the lights have to be very bright and colourful to get me out in the freezing cold. 

Last night the thermometer showed +3°C and the weather was so calm. The only sound I could hear from a distance came from a swan. Where I stood I couldn't see a thing. Not even my tripod when I walked two steps away from it. Having snow makes a big difference during winter. But in complete darkness when the Northern Lights are very strong the surrounding lit up for a moment. I could see the ground I was standing on ... and my tripod. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.