Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Singer sewing machine

This 1929 treadle sewing machine was given to me by a friend who had acquired it sometime ago with the idea of restoring it as an object of beauty rather than its original use. It has been sitting in my garden for about a year and it is my intention to do some work on it to make a garden feature.
There is a little drawer containing the original, now rusty, sewing machine accessories and attachments, and the 1929 manual.

As if feels quite summery today I decided to begin my project. I am stripping off the veneer, then think I will paint all the wood before maybe tiling the top. I shall use it as a plant display. I am sure sewing machine fans will be appalled at my misuse of this historical piece of social history. However I have two very old hand sewing machines, a lovely big inherited Singer in a heavy case, and my Singer Confidence for daily use. So I am doing my bit for the sewing machine fan club,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.