Haweswater from Burnbanks

A much better day than forecast today,instead of rain we got a moody sky, patches of blue and warm.
Even with a lie in we were out relatively early, certainly we seemed to be ahead of the crowds as we didn't see a soul until we turned for home and started passing people just setting out.
From Burnbanks we made out way in a Pushka friendly gentle looping incline up onto the knotts & knolls of Bampton Common and then along the complex line of contours to Low Kopp before avoiding the bog at Measand Beck and making our way down to amble back along the shore.
I couldn't really decide on today's blip, in the end I went with the colour in this, but I was very taken with the looming bulk of Wallow Crag and it's steep drop into Haweswater, so it's been added as an extra. Wallow Crag has no notable climbing, but is, in my mind, fascinating for its geology and it's proximity to the interestingly named Hugh's Laithes Pike, of which I can find no reason or meaning to the name, especially as I all I know of it is that it is where Riotous Jimmy Lowther was finally laid to rest after his ghost caused too much trouble in Shap graveyard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.