The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Beautiful butterfly

There was a hang gliding history 'exhibition' at the Annual AGM and this glider was made in 1977 - a year before I started flying.
I reckon I was born at just the right time for getting into the sport because it was still flourishing (as was I - at 19) with new, better designs coming out every six months or so.
What fantastic fun it was, as a young lad, to realise I could actually go out and become airborne, on my own pure flying machine, with complete autonomy.
Those early days were a heady mixture of fear and thrills and laughs, always driven by the desire to fly. My life was defined by it for over a decade and still is to some extent. And what great friends I made through it.
What a privilege.
Bloody brilliant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.