East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Koala in the wild - a very special experience

I had a very special and rare encounter today.
I had to go to Lismore and took the back road as it is usually quicker. However today there were lots of road works happening and I had taken a quick landscape blip whilst waiting at a road works stop sign and thought that would be todays blip as I knew I would be home late.
However a few k's up the road I spotted this very rare fellow in a Eucalyptus tree just off the side of the road. I think he may be a big male although I'm not sure - I have only ever seen two other Koalas in the wild in my life and that was 25-30 years ago and they were much smaller and prettier so that is my only reason for thinking he may be a big old male Koala. He was sound asleep with his head tucked in when I got back to the tree so I had plenty of time to get numerous shots, he woke up looked around then tucked his head back in and went back to sleep (or tried to) as he kept an eye on me. He moved a bit and then had a scratch, checked me out and eventually started to look like he was climbing down as in this shot.
They are a very endangered species, due to loss of habitat (they only eat one type of Eucalyptus leaf) and also road kill, bushfires and land developments. They also are being killed by a disease as well.
Because it's such a very special thing to see one in the wild these days I have put quite a few shots of him in my Blipfolio if anyone would like to have a look - some of him curled up asleep and having a scratch etc - so cute.
I hope you enjoy seeing him as much as I did.
How much can a Koala bear:)
I have only linked one photo to save time but the last 7 photos in the above blipfolio section are of the Koala (I love the one of him asleep with his head tucked in)
Edit: re the Eucalyptus leaves that they eat - I just looked up to see which type and discovered I was wrong. Apparently there a quite a few they will eat so it must be an urban myth that they only eat one type. Although one web site did say that in different areas they will prefer one type which may be different in another population group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.