On a wing and a preyer

I'd given my grandson a DSLR and a couple of zoom lenses so we went along to the Birds of Prey Centre at Herring Green Farm near Old Warden so he could try them out. I also took my new Fujifilm X-Pro2 and its 56/1.2 lens. The flight display was just the opportunity I needed to try out the high speed electronic shutter to catch the bird swooping after a stoop to catch the lure. Flight speeds of up to 200-300 mph have been recorded and the first few passes happened at break neck speed before I could react. Finally I started to judge things right and caught this short with everything just right. I doubt I'll ever manage to time things this well again!
My grandson managed some great shots but the DSLR just wasn't responsive enough to give the best shots. However, he did get some excellent shots of owls in flight and some beautiful portraits of a wide variety of birds of prey. In all it was a great day out and he was pleased as punch as he returned home with his camera bag and tripod. We'll be doing more trips in the future unless he starts getting better results than me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.