Stavros S.Niarchos

A lovely sunny day here and I was not working (much). I walked along the canal and then around Barnluasgan with blipper friend and dogs. In the afternoon I cycled along the towpath to Cairnbaan and back. They are tarring the towpath which I suppose makes it easier to cycle but takes something away from it too. Maybe it will be OK when it wears in.

Anyway despite the wanderings I still had virtually no photos today. Then just I was serving up dinner both telephones started ringing, it was the local paparazzi with the information that a tall ship was entering the bay below the house. Family left to fend for themselves I abandoned the house for a few shots. Another blipper had got there before me and had hogged the best view point but I was not deterred and joined forces with her

So here she is the Stavros S Niarchos who has sailed from Greenock today and looks like she is staying overnight. Built in 2000 she is a UK sailing vessel, who she is carrying I have no idea but I thought she may be a training ship. She looks very pretty in the bay catching the last of the sun and is causing quite a stir in the village as everyone goes down to see her. I have added a couple to extras so that you can see her scale. I don't think she will fit through our little canal.

I have also been back this evening to see what she looks like in the dark and have added one as an extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.