An alternative ?

I was on Gigha for the day, campaigning.   

Having crossed Loch Fyne on the 9.45 ferry I got  to the the pier in Tayinloan at 10.35 , in plenty of time for the 11.00 am sailing ,  but discovered that I was 12th in  the car queue , for a boat that usually can take only 12 and sometimes not even that.  

When loading took place neither I, nor Marie Claire my agent (who was in the car in front of me, laden with leaflets) were able to board.  Marie Claire got to put a box of leaflets on the boat to accompany the two cars of SNP activists, including my colleague Brendan O'Hara MP ,  that were in front of us, but I had to wait for an hour to get the next ferry .  I wasn't even allowed to board as a foot passenger, as they had reached capacity on the vessel - something that is virtually unknown !

Good news for the island though, that there is so much demand so early in the season.  I suspect it because of a combination of factors - a lovely day, the introduction of RET (which has reduced fares) and more to do and see on an island owned by the community itself. 

Anyway I had a cup of coffee at the excellent cafe by the Tayinloan Pier , took some pictures (like this one ) and crossed at 12.00 - straight into a series of meetings and visits that were overwhelmingly positive despite the problems that beset all small islands and Gigha particularly given the diary industry there. 

Don Dennis, who owns Achamore House on the island and who has one of the diary farms, crossed over to meet me so that we could  travel together and make up for lost time .  He  let me sample his new "Wee Isle" ice cream which will go into full production later this Spring.   It was delicious and a very good diversification for the milk he is producing.   Look out for it in Argyll this summer. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.