Ancient Ruin

A late blip I'm afraid as I had a full-on day yesterday with no time for processing or blipping!

I called in on this wonderful church on my journey down to Suffolk.  It is ruined and disused except for people like me who think it is marvellous. 
The church is All Saints, Segenhoe and was abandoned in the mid 18th century in favour of the newer church in Ridgmont - the village a couple of fields away.  It is roofless, windowless, almost doorless but has a great deal of charm and quiet charisma with an interesting, and still active, graveyard.  The light was good although the sun was quite high, and I enjoyed the stark contrasts as a result of the sun coming through the roof space.  It suited the use of a wide angle lens and mono conversion very well; one further view added in Extras.

I journeyed on to Bury St Edmunds to visit my mother and, after a chat with her and her carer, we went out for lunch and a drive through the National Trust property, Ickworth Park.  It was busy with families as the schools are off, but we just drove along a lane pausing here and there.; it's not really a route for vehicles but Mum can't walk so I think it's justified.

There are a lot of sheep and lambs and we stopped to watch them.  One added as an extra - this poor sheep had been having a bit of a rest but her twin lambs wanted feeding so in the end she got up - very cute.

Late afternoon I visited my brother and then it was the drive home - lateish by then so straight to Camera Club without dropping home first.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.