Love My Nikon!

By kstarksphoto

More than just a sign.

Ok so this particular building is located on 1st. and Broad. It's actually a barber shop right below this huge sign, and it's been there for as long as I can remember. As a matter of fact..the barber shop has a twin right across the street from it. Harvey's. I've went there to get my hair cut since I was a kid.

Ok anyway...about this building. I don't know why the sign is up here. Maybe back in the 80's or 70's it was more than just a sign. I do know however that this builiding was connected to a store named Standard's Drug ( I THINK that was the name of it ). There was a back and front entrance. The back entrance was located on 1st. and Marshal and the front was located on broad st. right beside the building with the coke sign.

Now I'm going off of my memory of this, but when you went into the back entrance it almost seemed like you sunk down into a basement sorta. More than a drug store, if you looked to your left there were a set of small steps which you could walk down to reach the grocery part of the store. Pretty neat actually. Most of the time if I my grandmother and I visited this store, we would go through the back entrance, and end up coming out the front entrance on Broad St.

I think the store finally shut down between 1990 and 1993...I can't really remember. Right now the doors to the store are shut..and I think the front entrance is replaced by one of the paintings that were done last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.