What a day I've had!

I've been trying to deal with some official matters about my address, which has not been easy. Not gonna bother you with details, but I had to write to 3 customer services to ask how I should tell the government that my trip has been extended. 1 received reply which did not answer my question, reply to the reply and finally got some advice how to proceed. 2 have not gotten back.

I've been also prepared power of attorney letters to my dad so he can take care of some issues for me in Finland. I have now all the details what is required so that the power of attorney letters will be accepted by for example attorneys of a bank. My son has been digging up my papers to get right information for those ect.

Then we've made an agreement with the legal firm we visited Monday. They has some mistakes in the emails we got, so went through those, and got back to them with the list of mistakes, and haven't heard back yet.

Yesterday I sent about 40 requests about rentals and have not gotten anywhere closer to getting a place. We'll be homeless soon. Perhaps we better buy a caravan and sleep there over the summer and get back to rentals in September. Well, except we can't buy anything like that before we get our papers in order here so we are waiting for the lawyer to get back to us.

Tomorrow is a holiday in Alicante. Just Alicante. Torrevieja has one on Monday. Everything is closed. Even the road N332 will be closed because there's the annual Santa Faz pilgrimage from Alicante Cathedral of St. Nicholas to the Monastery of Santa Faz near San Juan. About 250 000 people will participate. And what we understood that they will eat and drink on the way.

"This pilgrimage honours the religious relic, a piece of cloth used by Veronica to wipe the face of Jesus as he carried his cross, which is kept by the nuns at the monastery. At 08:00 the procession leaves the cathedral in the centre of Alicante. All of the participants carry a cane with a sprig of Rosemary at the top and, mainly following the Avenida de Denia, walk the 8km. There are stops along the route where you can sample the mistela (sweet wine) and the Alicante anise rolls. It is tradition to wear a black shirt and a neckerchief with Alicante colours: white and blue and of course comfortable shoes and a sun hat are a must.
 
Once the pilgrimage arrives at the monastery at about 10:00, there will be a mass in honour of the relic. Then there are buses to transport you back to the centre of Alicante or you can stay and enjoy the craft market which accompanies this 500 year old tradition." from http://www.eurotourguide.com/en/costa-blanca-south/events-calendar/alicante-santa-faz-pilgrimage

So nothings moving forward tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.