But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Fordyce Castle.

More correctly called a tower house, or even a self-catering holiday cottage. Built in 1592 by Thomas Menzies, extended in 1700 and then used as a school for most of that century. There are features that suggest it could have been defended with muskets but, if I were inside while it was under attack, I would probably just lock myself in the bathroom.
 
It was raining again for most of the day, so I did the 15 mile round trip for the sake of a Blip. The village is a pretty little place having a quaint kirk yard with several seemingly disconnected small buildings that at one time must have constituted the church.
 
In looking up the village on Google for some interesting historical information, I discovered that its main claim to fame is the surprising fact that it shares its name with a variety of benign skin blemishes that occur on embarrassing portions of the human anatomy and are, consequently, better not investigated further. There was a time when I wanted to be a doctor, I’m glad I took up engineering instead.

I've just posted "Bloody Satnav" from April Fools' Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.