Fantail

I was very excited today to capture a photograph of a fantail after many attempts  and many failures. This wee bird is friendly, but like quicksilver, darting in all directions in trees and bushes and rarely stopping. Today I stood in my doorway and got him as he chittered and chattered away to me in fantail talk..

Fantails follow people around, snatching at the insects disturbed by our passage. This one belongs to the South Island sub species of the New Zealand Fantail - called Piwakawaka in Maori. They are common and very small. The body is 8 cm (3 and a 1/2 inches) in length with the tail adding another 8 cm. They weigh about 9 grams - dainty little birds

Although I am quite happy with the one I posted as the main blip, I have added extras just to share this delightful little bird.

The next goal is to capture the fantail with his fan like tail spread wide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.