Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Mini-Blipmeet

Pilipo and Connections were not able to make it down from Bellingham, WA to Portland for the BIG blipmeet last Saturday, but I enjoyed having time with them this morning. We were approached by a young unhoused man who was speaking with people we couldn't see, and C. bought him a sandwich which he relished as we talked among ourselves of relatives and friends with mental illness and the lack of services for them. Then we spoke of many of our favorite Blippers (whose ears may have been burning as we talked of them with admiration--are you listening, WalkingMarj, Ceridwen, MariainWales, and Arachne?). I was very happy to deliver them to my wonderful local camera shop, Pro Photo Supply, where I have acquired my cameras over the last eight years and where the staff are wonderfully patient and knowledgable, as Phil discovered. Phil told the consultant what he wanted and spent time trying out several models, searching for a micro four thirds camera that will handle low-light well, as he is now the unofficial photographer for his group of woodworking friends. Connections and I enjoyed kibitzing and taking pictures of Phil and the camera guy.

For me it has been a day of much walking. My car developed a terrible grinding sound on the way home from Sauvie Island yesterday, and it needed a major brake job with new front tire rotors. It has now been made safe, my bank account is much lighter, and I hope this old car (purchased new in 2003) has another decade in it, as it will have to be my last car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.