Their lives in front of them

We went round the circuit, it being such a beautiful day, although the wind was cold up on the South Foreland. This party of American (me)/German (The Principal) young people were not as close to the edge as it appears.

Earlier C and I had burnt up a lot of old bush at John's.

Later I went into Deal to do a bit of shopping and get some wood to mend my saw horse and some plastic sheeting to do the same with my 'greenhouse'.

A strange coincidence - John had driven down the A68 from Jedburgh in 1970 to see his son who was  training to be a merchant seaman at South Shields (we drove down it last Sunday). He - the son -  was shortly afterwards killed in a car crash. I came across a diary of such pain and regret.

John had written out a quote;

'How weary, stale, flat and unprofitable
Are all the things of this world.'

It is from Hamlet's first soliloquy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.