Glentauchers

I have been amazed at the number of whisky distilleries up in the north of Scotland but of all of them, this one was a must see.

Not open to visitors and perhaps not the prettiest of them, but at the outbreak of WW2, my Gran was heavily pregnant and was evacuated from Edinburgh to the Highlands. She stayed in the customs and excise house (every distillery had its own C &H man onsite) of Glentauchers distillery, which is still producing whisky.

My dad was born in the house on the bottom right photo. He visited it a few months ago and was welcomed in to have a look around.

Last Friday, I saw (and blipped) the very non-descript house where I was born. I think my dad has a far more interesting place of birth - not everyone can say, 'I was born in a whisky distillery'!!!

The main shot was taken from the car looking towards the Cairngorms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.