Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Tilikum Crossing, Bridge of the People

This bridge is the only bridge of its kind in the U.S., designed to carry light rail trains, buses, streetcars, bicyclists, and pedestrians -- but no cars or trucks!

" 'Tilikum' is Chinook Wawa, an international language used by indigenous people... who have lived near the Columbia and Willamette rivers for 14,000 years, and later spoken by explorers, fur traders, settlers, and the first few generations of Portlanders. Tilikum means 'people', 'tribes', and 'relatives', and has come to describe frieindly people and friends."

All the people we encountered as we crossed this beautiful bridge fit that description.

We spent a couple of hours in the adjacent Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI) --- including lunch -- before walking across the bridge and continuing our journey on the streetcar, which deposited us a few steps from Pro Photo Supply.

In my blip yesterday I said I would be buying the Panasonic GX8, unless I changed my mind. Well, I changed my mind -- several times -- and bought the GX8! A video review by a Brit named David Thorpe was very influential. I wish I could include a link -- using my iPad!

P.S. ArtistAnnie said copying and pasting a link works. Try this:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=3k69P8f-DKg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.