JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Peregrine at Derby Cathedral

Having stayed the night with my friends in Tamworth I drove back to Derby this morning for a third successive day in the office.

My plan for a blip today was to head to the cathedral for a shot of one of the peregrine falcons that nest on the tower. I checked the webcam on the peregrine watch website several times in the morning. One of the birds was there perched on the nest site, but shortly before lunchtime it flew off, so I was a bit worried I would be unlucky.

I needn't have worried. When I got there I soon spotted one of the adult birds perched on a ledge near the top of the tower. Even with the 500mm lens it is still a little disappointingly small, but I like this image with the bird between the two grotesques.

I may go back again sometime and have a go at a closer shot with my digiscoping kit.

The Derby City Council website has this webcam page of the nest site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.