fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Wood Duck in Tree!!

I passed a man along the Audobon birding trail that runs adjacent to one of our favorite dog parks.  I was walking along there and he told me there were wood ducks going in the trees up ahead so to look for them    I figured I'd never see them much less in the trees...they are so pretty but so seldom seen there.  Wellllllllllll...to my amazement and thrill I did hear them and then saw them up in the branches.   
     Unlike most other ducks, the Wood Duck has sharp claws for perching in trees... After hatching, the ducklings jump down from the nest treeand make their way to water. The mother calls them to her, but does not help them in any way
    I hope you enjoy this beautiful wood duck and get a charge out of seeing him up there in the trees!  I sure did:)
     Happy weekend...we are still waiting as little baby sister has decided to rest comfortably in her " home" for a bit longer:)
     Thanks for all the nice comments stars and hearts...very kind. xxC

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.