Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Marsh marigolds

I went to Blackford Pond after work today to check it out after an absence of several months. I was last there with T in the autumn  and the adult male swan had started to chase the cygnets to get them to move on. T and I are really soppy about this kind of thing, and didn't want to see them bullied or depressed. Anyway, the coast was clear today and the female swan was already nesting on the island, but I didn't have the right camera for birds.

I also saw a couple of moorhens. several pairs of tufted ducks, some mallards, blackheaded and herring gulls, jackdaws, and a greylag goose but no coots. I reckoned that a pair of Canada geese were looking for a nesting place, which could be interesting - the male swans hates all geese, presumably because they are the next biggest bird after him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.