Film

By Film

A split in the road, Station Brae, Munlochy.

A different kind of split for me and this camera. Fabulous as it is, have decided to sell it. I think that had the original plan worked out - to use it heavily over several weeks of holiday - I'd have got to know it better, and appreciate it more. But it had a fault, and was away for repair for all but the first couple of days of holiday. After that, I was dispirited by the long wait for its return, and then lacked the time to really get acquainted. Lovely lens too, which is little soft in the corners, and on the left side, at maximum aperture, but pretty darned sharp stopped down a bit. Have had other lenses that are still soft when stopped down. That really bugs me, knowing that part of the frame may be blurred, and you can't counteract it... other than getting rid of the lens. I haven't jelled with the rangefinder camera experience, and often missed using an SLR, even if the usual one is bigger and heavier. That said, I won't be parting with my parents' ancient Zeiss "folder". It's a rangefinder camera that uses 120 (medium format) film, and such fun to use. With forthcoming job changes, I won't have much time for film Blip hunts, as well as the other journal. So after this year is up I'll be doing much less film Blipping for the foreseeable future. If it was a cheap camera, I wouldn't have been bothered with it not being used much.

Extras - Road to Allangrange, from Munlochy; and the Knockbain Parish Church, on the outskirts of the village. All three shots taken with the same exposure settings. Won't be getting away with handheld shots at 1/15th of a second with the SLR...


Zeiss Ikon 35mm : f/2.8 : 1/15" : 35mm : ISO400

Lens: Zeiss Biogon T* 2/35 ZM
Film: Ilford XP2-Super 400 (B&W negative)


[Frames : 35, 36, & 37]

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.